The weekend before the great gorge…

The Friday before Thanksgiving and all is going too well.

I have a feeling something bad is about to happen. Call it a gut instinct or perhaps just common sense when it comes to the town of Logansville.

No one has mentioned hearing from my friend who went through the door, but I’m not giving up on him.

My parents are already bugging me about coming home for Thanksgiving. I told them I have to work, which is kind of true. I figured it was better than saying I’d rather stick a fork in my eye.

And the fact I have gotten closer to a certain person who shall remain nameless has nothing to do with it. Plus he has a girlfriend (that if you ask me is using him for money but that’s none of my business).

Anyways, the only strange and unusual news we have to end the week on is that everything is normal. That in and of itself is weird.

I searched high and low for any tidbit but came up empty. So, I hit my archives of various messages, notes, photos, and other correspondences (you have no idea the kind of things people send me – and here’s a tip, if you have to put it in an airtight container because of the smell, I probably don’t want it)

So –

Dear Lucy,

Long time reader, first time writing. I live in the western part of Logansville near the park. There’s a small café I like going to, Better Latte than Never, it is just the nicest place. Anywho, I was there last week with a few of my girlfriends when I overheard someone talking about having to pay a plumber an outrageous sum of money to do a simple unclog. Well, I had just had to do something similar and was about to ask who she used when she continued with her story.

Apparently, the plumber said that several houses were affected and the thing he had to take out of the drains was dangerous. Some sort of poisonous parasite or some such nonsense. He told her that animal control was too worried to deal with it and that a few other organizations were starting to worry because it was turning into an infestation.

Well, let me tell you, I spoke to my friends a.s.a.p and wouldn’t you know, all of them had a similar experience in the last two weeks. Turns out that plumber was right.

But what’s strange is that none of us remember seeing him actually take anything out of the pipes or drains. All we remember is him taking out some newfangled piece of equipment and jamming it into the drains.

And to make things even stranger when I called animal control to check out this story they redirected me to the mayor’s office.

Don’t you think that’s something worth looking into?

Sincerely,

Abigail F.

Leave a Reply

