Humble pie tastes a lot like crow

Humble pie tastes a lot like crow

Things aren’t as bad as I thought – they could be better – but, I’m hopeful. I smoothed things over, at least I tried to. It’s going to take some time, but he’s worth it.

Sometimes I’m not so good with the words. Which is really annoying a total knock to my self confidence.

Anyways, remember a while back when that doctor from the psychiatric place I investigated was following me and crank calling me? Well, he’s back. He heard about me and my queries into a certain paranormal psychologist and wants to talk. I politely declined and mentioned that since I’m now friends with the chief of police that a restraining order was a phone call away.

So, back to work it is.

I have more evidence in the werewolf support category, but it is all circumstantial. The people I met on the forums are nice and a few even invited me to their next “moon gathering” which I politely declined after an overly enthusiastic member posted photos. Yeah, that’s not the direction I’ll be going in with this case.

The deeper I dig, the more I wonder if perhaps I’m dealing with something more, something else that I can’t quite put my finger on.

Another missing woman from Logansville. Another heartbroken boyfriend that has no answers. Another jar with something terrible inside. Everyone’s struggling, putting in extra hours and running down every possible lead. But we’re chasing our tails. We need…I don’t know.

I need to eat some pie and think. But not this weekend – they’re going to try the turkey run again. Old lady Gigham has been unarmed. They found her in some sort of yurt she made out of sticks and the hide of an animal she skinned with her teeth. Did I mention how scary this woman is?

Have fun people, try not to get cornered by a gaggle this weekend. I’ve seen it happen and it’s not pretty.

One thought on “Humble pie tastes a lot like crow

  1. Dear Ms. Lane

    I’ve been wanting to share this with you ever since you mentioned “werewolf “in your blog.

    I’ve always been fascinated by the moon: its beauty, the mysterious and tremendous force it has on things and beings alike .Thus, for years now, once every couple of months, my friend and I pack our bags, our telescopes, our flash lights, our cans of pepper spray, and our dogs and head to different parks to admire the full moon. Strangely, the last few times we’ve been to Bottomless Pitt State Park –and yes, I know some of the trails were closed, but we don’t care. Our love and fascination for the moon is greater than our fear of authority and\ or whatever is it that the authorities are protecting us from – my body has behaved in the most strange and unusual fashion.

    The first time it happened, we had barely made it to our secret observatory spot when all of a sudden, I started to sneeze, my nose felt stuffy, and runny. I thought I had caught a cold or something. Yet not even five minutes later, the symptoms worsen as I began coughing and wheezing. I started to freak out the second I felt trouble swallowing, started shivering uncontrollably, and felt a tightness in my chest. Thinking I was having a heart attack, my friend forced me to hop on to her back and began running like a manic, carrying me across the dark woods. I remember the dogs running behind us, they seemed agitated, and were barking anxiously. At first, I thought they were just reacting to the nervousness and fear they must have perceived in their masters, but when I saw them come to a complete stop, turn around, growl ,and bark aggressively did I realize they were protecting us from something behind us. We got to the car safe and sweaty. I managed to convince my friend to drive me home as the symptoms started to subside the minute the woods were behind us, and I am not a big fan of hospitals. Later that night, I thought that that weird episode might have just been some sort of panic attack (?). Work had been particularly stressful that month.

    The week after and the one after that, we returned to Bottomless Pitt State Park to walk the dogs and get some fresh air. It was pleasant and I felt quite relaxed.

    Many days later, we returned to the park for the full moon only this time, I almost did not make it out of the woods, Ms. Lane. We were adjusting our telescopes when the dogs started barking aggressively at our surroundings. The symptoms appeared: coughing, wheezing, and vomiting. Then, shortness of breath, weakness in the knees, tightness in the chest and throat, dizziness…. I remember the troubled expression on my friend’s face, the dogs growling, a warm hand around my waist, my name being called by a distant voice and then ….everything went black.

    I woke up in the hospital. The doctors did not believe me when I told them I had no allergies. I mustn’t have sounded or looked too convincing with a swollen tongue, but it was true! Until a few months ago, I had no allergies what so ever. I was told I almost did not make it due to the severity of my anaphylactic shock and that was a complete shock to me. It was preposterous! I was being told I have allergies? But allergies to what?? Days later, I had an extensive scratch test which came out negative. Have you ever had more than a 100 scratches on your back and arms? I’m telling you, it hurts and it’s not fun! Now, I’m most likely scarred for life. My severe allergic reaction was termed “idiopathic anaphylaxis”. I now have to carry a damned epipen wherever I go. Joking, my friend suggested I might have developed a severe full moon allergy. The joke got me thinking -and this might sound crazy- but if…….what if I’m allergic to this werewolf??

    Like

Leave a Reply

